Site Map Contact Us Home

County Council Members


John Thomas - District 1

Current Term: January 2015 – December 2018

John Thomas resides in North Litchfield with his wife, Peg.  Mr. Thomas holds a civil engineering degree from Vanderbilt University.  He was a career Naval Intelligence Officer, retiring with the rank of Commander.  In addition to his Navy career, he was a traffic engineer for the Tennessee DOT, and for 10 years was a systems engineer for a government agency that develops and operates satellite intelligence systems.  Mr. Thomas served as President of the Litchfield Beaches Property Owners Association, and is also a volunteer with SCUTE (South Carolina United Turtle Enthusiasts), dedicated to sea turtle conservation in Georgetown and Horry counties.

John Thomas
P.O. Box 373, Pawleys Island, SC 29585
(843) 237-3718


Ron Charlton - District 2

Current Term: January 2017 - December 2020

Ron Charlton resides with his wife, Bonnie, in the City of Georgetown. He attended business administration courses at the University of Kansas. First elected in 1996, Mr. Charlton is now serving his fifth term on County Council. He is an owner of Southern Coastal Cable Communications. He is a member of VFW Post 6444 and serves as a trustee. Additionally, Mr. Charlton serves on the Salvation Army board, the Red Cross board, the Keep Georgetown Beautiful board, the Georgetown County Chamber of Commerce board, the Cultural Council board and the Four Columns Foundation. Mr. Charlton previously served as chairman of County Council.

Ron Charlton
P.O. Box 1998, Georgetown, SC 29442
(843) 546-2200, (843) 527-2314 (Fax)

Everett Carolina - District 3

Current Term: January 2017-December 2020


Everett Carolina has deep roots in Georgetown County. Though he was born in Charleston and grew up in Washington, D.C., both his parents were Georgetown natives and after they moved back home, he decided Georgetown was where he belonged as well. A managing and senior partner for Jacinez Holding and Funding in Georgetown, Mr. Carolina has worked in the field of finance and risk management for more than 30 years. He is a graduate of Anacostia High School in Washington, D.C., and the College of Idaho in Caldwell, where he obtained degrees in business management and social psychology. He resides in the City of Georgetown with his wife Susan Sheppard Carolina, an Army veteran who is employed as a nurse at McDonald Elementary School. They have four grown children: Inesha, a freshman at Francis Marion University; Hiram II of Greenville; Sharod of Greenville; and Darian of Washington, D.C.; and four grandchildren. Mr. Carolina is a member of Bethel AME Church in Georgetown and of the Southern Georgetown Leadership Council. He is a former member of the Georgetown County Planning Commission.


Everett Carolina Sr.
669 Corner Loop, Georgetown, SC 29440
(843) 545-3058



Lillie Johnson - District 4

Current Term: January 2017 - December 2020

Lillie Jean Johnson, a native of Georgetown and mother of one son, currently resides in the City of Georgetown. Having earned degrees from Allen University and the University of South Carolina, Ms. Johnson retired as a high school teacher from the school system in 1994. She is a member of Arnett A.M.E. Church, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., and a lifetime member of the NAACP. Ms. Johnson presently serves on the board of Waccamaw Regional Transportation Authority (dba Coast RTA) and the Church Relations Committee for Georgetown County Habitat for Humanity. She is also a hospice volunteer. Ms. Johnson previously served on Georgetown County Council, and returned to represent County Council District 4 after an eight-year absence. Ms. Johnson also previously served on the City of Georgetown Planning Commission, and as a board member of the Waccamaw EOC.

Lillie Jean Johnson
906 N. Merriman Road, Georgetown, SC 29440

Austin Beard – District 5

Current Term: January 2017 - December 2020

Austin Beard resides in the Town of Andrews. He is an active member of Trinity United Methodist Church in Andrews. Mr. Beard holds a bachelor of arts degree from the Baptist College of Charleston (Charleston Southern University). He is employed as manager of the Anderson Brothers Bank in Georgetown. He has previously served on the Georgetown County Planning Commission, the Georgetown County Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission, and on the Georgetown County Habitat for Humanity Board of Directors.

Austin Beard
P.O. Box 763, Andrews, SC 29510
(843) 997-0910

Steve Goggans – District 6

Current Term: January 2015 – December 2018

Steve Goggans resides in the Pawleys Island area with his wife, Barbara. They have two children, Graham and Stevie, both of whom are graduates of Coastal Carolina University.  Mr. Goggans holds a master’s degree in community and regional planning from the University of Alaska and a bachelor’s of science degree in pre architecture from Clemson University. He is a licensed architect since 1982, and is founder and owner of SGA Architecture, headquartered in Pawleys Island. Mr. Goggans is a board member for Vestry of Christ the King-Grace Church, is governmental affairs director for the S.C. Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, serves on the board of the Pawleys Island Music Festival, and is former chairman of Citizens for Ocean Highway. He has served on numerous boards and task forces over the years, many as a council appointee, and is a past recipient of the Volunteer of the Year Award presented by the Pawleys Island Rotary Club.

Steve Goggans
P.O. Box 1859, Pawleys Island, SC, 29585
(843) 545-3058


Johnny Morant - District 7

Current Term: January 2015 – December 2018

Johnny Morant resides with his wife, Janice, in the Plantersville section of Georgetown County. They have two children and two grandchildren. He has a bachelor of science degree from Savannah State University and a law degree from the University of Illinois. He is a member of Mt. Carmel United Baptist Church. Mr. Morant is a partner in the law firm of Morant and Morant, LLC. He formerly served as chairman of the Waccamaw Workforce Investment Board. He presently serves on the Waccamaw Regional Council of Governments Board, South State Bank Advisory Board, and is a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity. Mr. Morant currently serves as Chairman of Georgetown County Council, and has held that position consecutively since 2008.

Johnny Morant
P.O. Drawer 437, Georgetown, SC 29442
(843) 527-2448, (843) 546-0468 (Fax)