Site Map Contact Us Home

Legislative Delegation

Georgetown County Legislative Delegation
Location: 129 Screven Street, Room 303, Georgetown, S.C. 29440
Phone: (843) 545-3029
Fax: (843) 545-3267
Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. (except for legal holidays)
Mailing Address: P.O. Drawer 421270, Georgetown, SC 29442-4200
Point of Contact: 

Department Functions:

To provide citizens assistance, Notary Public applications and support for Delegation members.

The Georgetown County Legislative Delegation Office serves as a liaison between the public, governmental agencies and the four elected state legislators (two State House representatives and two senators) who represent Georgetown County. The office processes all Notary Public applications filed by Georgetown County residents and provides information about Notary commissions to residents of other counties. Though state-mandated, the county funds the Delegation Office.

This Office:

  • Serve as liaison between citizens, agencies and the Legislative Delegation members
  • Process all Notary Public applications for Georgetown County residents
  • Assists the public with information about other government agencies
  • Coordinates administrative functions and meetings of the Legislative Delegation
  • Provides public information on the status of South Carolina legislation, via the Internet

Frequently Asked Questions:

Q: How can I get in touch with my State Representative or Senator?

A: Through the Legislative Delegation Office or at the addresses and phone numbers listed below:

Senator Ronnie A. Sabb
P.O. Box 311, Greeleyville, SC 29056
Phone: 843-426-4138  Work: 843-355-5349
Columbia: Suite 504, Gressette Building, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: 803-212-6032 

Senator Stephen L. Goldfinch
P.O. Box 823, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
Phone: 843-385-4302  Work: 843-357-9301
Columbia: Suite 513, Gressette Building, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: 803-212-6172 

Representative Carl L. Anderson
PO Box 694, Georgetown, SC 29442
Phone: 843-546-5332  Work: (843) 546-5332
Columbia: 304-C Blatt Building, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: 803-734-2933 

Representative Lee Hewitt
P.O. Box 928, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
Phone: (843) 652-4236
Columbia: 327-D Blatt Building, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 212-6927 

Q: How can I become a Notary Public?

A: Applications are available at the Legislative Delegation Office. Once the application form is completed, have it notarized and return it to the Delegation Office. Attach a check for $25, made payable to the Secretary of State. Endorsement of a Notary application requires the signatures of delegation members. The Delegation Office obtains these signatures and then forwards the application to the Secretary of State´s office. When the Notary commission is returned to the applicant, the Clerk of Court must record it within 15 days. There is a recording fee.

Q: If I am having problems obtaining service from a local agency, how can your office help?

A: The Delegation Office performs a variety of research and investigative tasks for legislators and constituents. Work is not limited to state agencies and may include contact with private organizations and federal and local government agencies.


The Georgetown County Legislative Delegation is comprised of legislators who represent Georgetown County in the S.C. General Assembly. The 1975 passage of Act No. 283, S.C. Acts and Joint Resolutions, mandated the creation of County-funded delegation offices to provide administrative support in each of the state´s 46 counties.

Delegation meetings:

The delegation meets at the call of the Chair in Georgetown County Council's Chambers in the historic Georgetown County Courthouse. Meetings are open to the public. For meeting times, call the Delegation Office.